Champions League holders, Liverpool among fellow English sides Manchester City, Chelsea and Tottenham will today find out their group stage opponents when the draw takes place in Monaco.

UEFA Champions League

Klopp’s side won the competition beating Spurs in last season’s final. The Reds, Europa League winners, Chelsea and Premier League champions, Manchester City are seeded in pot one.

The season finale will take place on Saturday, 30th May 2020 at the Ataturk Stadium in Istanbul.

How the draw will work

26 teams made it directly into the group stage draw with 6 teams further joining them following the competition of Wednesday’s play-off matches.

The 32 teams further split into 4 pots. The two UEFA competition winners, Liverpool and Chelsea are in the first pot as well as the Champions of the six highest-ranked nations, Manchester City, Barcelona, Juventus, Bayern Munich, Paris St-Germain and Zenit St Petersburg.

The remaining teams are split into pots two to four in order of the club coefficient rankings. No team can play a club from their association. Meaning, last season’s runners up Tottenham won’t be drawn against one of the other English sides.

What are these pots?

Pot one:

Liverpool, Chelsea, Barcelona, Manchester City, Juventus, Bayern Munich, Paris St-Germain, Zenit St Petersburg

Pot two:

Real Madrid, Atletico Madrid, Borussia Dortmund, Napoli, Shakhtar, Donetsk, Tottenham, Ajax, Benfica

Pot three:

Lyon, Bayer, Leverkusen, Salzburg, Olympiakos, Club Bruges, Valencia, Inter Milan, Dinamo Zagreb

Pot four:

Lokomotiv Moscow, Genk, Galatasaray, RB Leipzig, Slavia Prague, Red Star Belgrade, Atalanta, Lille.

Champions League Calendar

September 17,18: Matchday one

October 1,2: Matchday two

                22,23: matchday three

November 5,6: Matchday four

                     26,27: matchday five

December 10,11: matchday six

                     16: last-16 draw

February 18,19,25, 26: last 16 first legs

March 10, 11, 17, 18: last 16 second legs

              20: Quarter-finals and semi-finals draw

April 7, 8: quarter-finals first leg

          14, 15: quarter-finals second leg

          28, 29: semi-finals first leg

May 5,6: semi-finals second leg

         30: finals