A raft of Liverpool’s Champions League winners-Mane, Van Dijk and Firmino, have been included on the Ballon d’Or’s 30-man shortlist that will be completed later this evening.

Trent Alexander-Arnold, Georginio Wijnaldum, Alisson and Cristiano Ronaldo are also chosen to add on the list.

Lionel Messi is expected to be among the nominees as the full list is expected to be completed later in the evening.

The Champions League winners, Liverpool, have by far the most players on the list.

From the Premier League, Manchester City and Tottenham have two participants. Sergio Aguero and Bernardo Silva from the Premier League title holders and Hugo Lloris and Son Heung-min from Spurs.

Arsenal forward Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang is on the list as well.

Winner’s announcement

On 2nd December, Ballon d’Or winner announcements will be done in Paris.

Luka Modric won in 2018 to end the seven-year dominance of the award by Messi and Ronaldo.

Van Dijk is among the favorites to win this year’s award.

The three main players of the year awards

A version of the Ballon d’Or had been awarded by France Football magazine since 1956. Later on, it merged with Fifa’s World Footballer of the year award from 2010 t0 2015.

However, FIFA ended their association with the Ballon d’Or the following year to set up their own- ‘Best FIFA Player award.’

In September, Messi won the award in the fourth edition of the Best FIFA Football Awards set up after football’s world governing body ended its association with the Ballon d’Or.

Meanwhile, Uefa’s Player of the Year award has been going since 1988. It was previously called Uefa Club Footballer of the Year (1998-2010) and UEFA Best Player in Europe (2011-16).