For the first time in 10 years, Premier League receives most nominations for the Fifa Fifpro Men’s world11 team. European Champions, Liverpool lead the way among the English teams with seven nominations.

Premier League domination

Twenty-one out of the fifty-five nominees play club football in England. As a result, Premier League ends La Liga’s dominance.

Seven of Liverpool’s  European Champions feature in the Fifa Fifpro Men’s World11 team. Different from Real Madrid and Barcelona which provided more players each.

Besides this, the best team will be revealed on September 23rd in Milan at the Best FIFA Football Awards.

The Selection criteria

Fifpro and the players’ union asked more than 23,000 professional players around the world to choose their best team. They carried out the selection basing on July 2018 and July 2019 performance.

The final team will include a goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfield players and three forwards.

Four Liverpool players are among 17 debutantes. Besides, Trent Alexander-Arnold and Andrew Robertson are on the shortlist.

Consequently, high profile players like Romelu Lukaku and David Silva have not received enough votes to feature for a second continuous year.

Barcelona has included nine players in the championship team. More to this, Real Madrid has eight players, while Liverpool and Manchester City both have seven players.

Moreover, former Madrid and current Juventus forward Cristiano Ronaldo is the only player to be named on all 15 world11 shortlists.

Fifpro Men’s World11 nominations


Alisson Becker (Liverpool), David De Gea (Manchester United), Ederson Moraes (Manchester City), Jan Oblak (Atletico Madrid), Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona).


Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Daniel Alves (PSG), Joao Cancelo (Juventus/Manchester City), Daniel Carvajal (Real Madrid), Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus), Virgil Van Dijk (Liverpool), Diego Godin (Atletico/Inter Milan), Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich), Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli), Aymeric Laporte (Manchester City), Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Andrew Robertson (Liverpool), Alex Sandro (Juventus), Thiago Silva (PSG), Raphael Varane (Real Madrid), Marcelo (Real Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).


Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City), Christian Eriksen (Tottenham Hotspur), Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/ Barcelona), Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid), Arthur Melo (Barcelona), Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Paul Pogba (Manchester United), Dusan Tadic (Ajax), Arturo Vidal (Barcelona).


Sergio Aguero (Manchester City), Karim Benzema (Real madrid), Roberto  Firmino (Liverpool), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico/Barcelona), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Kylian Mbappe (PSG), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Neymar (PSG), Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus), Mohammed Salah (Liverpool), Son Heung-min (Tottenham Hotspur), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Luis Suarez (Barcelona).